Mehdi Kazemi – Update

The news is not good.
 
Further Update: The UK’s home secretary, Jacqui Smith, is to review the case. I’m hoping that this is the light at the end of the tunnel for Kazemi, and not merely the headlights of the oncoming train.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mehdi Kazemi – Update

  1. Gelert says:

    I’m very fed up about this, considering the number of people we allow to come here with the flimsiest of reasons, to send this man back to what could be his death seems indefensible.

  2. Geoff says:

    Clearly, the UK government’s definition of "safe" ("Iranian gays will be safe as long as they are discreet") is not one that I find convincing. That also goes for their actions over Iraqi asylum seekers. And if there are gay Iraqis in that number, then the chances that they will be killed are also high. Gelert, have you written to your MP?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.