The Garden of Cosmic Speculation

As well as visiting the Crawick Multiverse last week, I also visited another of Charles Jencks gardens: the Garden of Cosmic Speculation. Whilst both gardens share common themes, and the use of sculpted landforms, there were also marked contrasts between the two. Perhaps the biggest was the fact that at the Multiverse, there were just two other visitors aside from my brother and me. At the Garden of Cosmic Speculation, I was one of over 2,500 visitors… This was no doubt caused by the fact that the GoCS is open to the public for just one day each year, whereas the Multiverse is open every day.  The Multiverse is also relatively new – it was opened in June 2015 – whilst the GoCS was established in 2003.

At the visitors’ entrance is the  Garden of Worthies – a row of plaques – leading to the Buttocks, complete with a notice on this day:

20170430-1122-11

20170430-1125-05

20170430-1124-58

Along the way, I passed Charles Jencks himself:

20170430-1121-24

The garden contains Jencks’ signature landforms, and the Snail Mound was extremely popular with visitors:

20170430-1224-34

20170430-1229-20

Here are all the photos I took (before the battery on my smartphone went flat).

Another stunning garden.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Garden of Cosmic Speculation

  1. Dale Brunner says:

    Geoff,
    I really enjoy reading your blog! The pictures are incredible, and bring me back to the time I spent in your neck of the woods. Please keep up the good work.
    Dragnoak

Leave a Reply

