Strike 2…

Back in March, I blogged about my experience with the Microsoft Band 2, summarising it as a “nice idea, but bad execution”. After three months of use, the strap had begun to split. I bought it from Amazon UK, and they replaced it with a new one without question .

And now, after four months of use, the strap on the new Band has split:

WP_20160726_08_14_54_Pro_LIOnce again, Amazon UK has come through, and gave me the options of a replacement, a full refund, or a 20% partial refund if I could get the strap replaced. Since there’s no possibility of getting the strap replaced by Microsoft, I went for option 1: a replacement.

Ominously, Amazon US are reported to be recommending the refund option to customers, because the splitting is such a common issue.

We’ll see just how long the strap on this one lasts. I fully expect that it will occur again. I hope that it does before my warranty expires in December this year (I bought my first Band in December 2015). If it does occur, then this time I’ll ask for a refund.

Microsoft is rumoured to announce the next version of the Band this October. Folk wisdom has it that it takes Microsoft three attempts before they get anything right. So the Microsoft Band 3 might last longer than four months. They really need to get it right, or once again, Microsoft’s reputation will take a hit.

Addendum 15 October 2016: Well, Microsoft hasn’t announced a Band 3. Instead, they’ve announced the immediate withdrawal of Band 2 from the market and said that there will be no Band 3, despite the fact that prototypes have been developed. Once again, Microsoft snatches defeat from the jaws of victory.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Consumer Electronics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

