A Narrow Escape

Yesterday, my Surface 3 was sitting on my desk, plugged in for charging and quietly minding its own business. Our dog Watson decided to walk past and got his leg caught in the cable. He carried on walking and pulled the Surface 3 off the desk and on to the tiled floor. I saw it happen, but was unable to catch it in time. All I could do was to utter a very loud expletive.

The Surface 3 landed on the point of one corner. I picked it up in dread, fearing that, at the very least, the screen would have cracked. To my surprise, the screen was intact, and the machine still working. The only evidence of the fall is the slight dent on the corner.

20151123-1830-26

It’s tougher than I thought.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Narrow Escape

  1. I hope that soon wireless chargers will have become universal and then such accidents less likely. Some Apple devices used to have a magnetic connector that would detach when someone tripped on the cable.

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Yes, I think the Surface Pro line uses magnetic connectors, but the Surface 3 just has a standard micro-USB for charging. At least my Lumia 1020 has a Qi cover for wireless charging, so that’s one less thing that Watson can destroy…

Leave a Reply

