Windows 10

So, the great day is here; Windows 10 has been unleashed.

Microsoft is in full Dr. Pangloss mode at the moment, trumpeting that Windows 10 is the best of all possible worlds.

Forgive my cynicism, but from what I have seen so far, I think it’s more of a curate’s egg.

The one saving grace is that it might improve over time, but going on Microsoft’s past performance, I’m not holding my breath. Having said all that, I will be updating all our windows devices to Windows 10, but not without regrets.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Windows 10

  1. Curmudgeon. I’m having fun with it. 🙂

    Thanks for teaching me “curate’s egg”. Now to work it into conversation someplace so it sticks…

  2. Mark says:

    After using Windows 10 for awhile now, I find surprisingly that I don’t like the menu. On my low-powered tablet, the Cortana-powered search is slow and jerky almost always missing the first letter I type. Having the desktop apps forced into alphabetic sorting makes sense in a full-screen view, not so much in a scrolling one and if I click “all apps” then decide I want to type – I have to click down in the type window (which looks like it is greyed out) before I can type anything.

  3. vanroaming says:

    I have seen you commenting elsewhere about the dumbing down of the Windows 10 photos app. Are you able to use Windows Photo Gallery 2012 (or any other version of WLPG) in Windows 10?

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Yes, WPG 2012 will run in Windows 10. I doubt whether Microsoft will develop it any further, but if it meets your needs, then you can use it under Windows 10. There’s an issue with it that means that I don’t use it to edit my metadata any more (it corrupts Makernotes metadata produced by Canon cameras in the workflow that I use), but most people won’t worry about this.

Leave a Reply

