Mist Eclipse

Today was an opportunity to see a partial eclipse here in the Netherlands. Unfortunately the weather gods were not smiling. Much of the country had cloudy skies.

Here in the Achterhoek, there were not only cloudy skies but heavy mist. So in a sense, we had not only a missed eclipse, but a mist eclipse. When I took the dogs out for their morning walk, we were surrounded by mist; not a chance of even a glimpse of the sun. We went for a walk in the woods at around the time of the eclipse. It was very noticeable how it became much darker during the maximum coverage of the sun by the moon, and then the day returned to normal brightness as we returned home.

Therefore, even though I was not able to observe the eclipse directly, I certainly had indirect evidence that something was afoot. In addition, one of our outside motion sensors (part of our Home Automation installation) has a light sensor. The readings from that today clearly show how the light from the sun was obscured during the moon’s transit:

Domoticz 25

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mist Eclipse

  1. Tom_T says:

    Love the graph!

  2. Matt Healy says:

    Cool graph; sorry you didn’t get to see it directly. Back in the 1990s I got to see one partial solar eclipse from the lawn of Yale Medical School when I was a Postdoc, and then a total eclipse in Germany where I was attending a scientific meeting. Where I was, the clouds parted at the critical moment. The organizer of our meeting was a few km away with his son’s school group; I was saddened later to learn they had clouds at the time of totality.

    As the Moon’s shadow raced across Europe towards us, we watched live video from the MIR space station.

    I took some pictures during the eclipse but they did not come out because I got the exposure wrong. Soon after that I got my first digital camera! Digital photography is great for lousy photographers like me because one knows right away whether one got the photo and can try again if need be…

Leave a Reply

