The Talos Principle

I’m not an avid player of computer games. I really do not like the shoot-em-up type of game at all, and avoid them at all costs. However, I am partial to Adventure games, particularly if there’s a good story behind it.

I’ve just finished playing The Talos Principle, which is a sort of cross between puzzle-solving, rather reminiscent of the testing chambers of Portal 2, and an exploration of philosophical questions on what it means to be human.

1_The-Talos-Principle-670x376

Some people apparently haven’t liked the mixing of the puzzles with the philosophy, but I think it adds to the depth of the game. Over the course of exploring a variety of environments (Roman, Eygptian, Mediaeval, future industrial), you get the chance to interact with computer terminals scattered throughout them, and gradually learn the backstory of what’s going on.

Talos 02

Talos 03

Talos 04

Talos 05

Talos 06

Talos 07

The worlds are beautifully rendered, with evocative soundscapes. However, they are devoid of animal or insect life – with two exceptions: butterflies in one world, and a few roosting pigeons high up in a tower that holds the key to the worlds.

On awakening in the game, you soon get to hear the voice of god – Elohim – who is clearly modelled on the god of the Old Testament, and who shares that fictional character’s tiresome arrogance. I soon found myself actively disobeying his commandments, partly out of spite, but also because it took me to places that I otherwise would not have seen.

If you Liked Portal 2, I think you’ll like The Talos Principle.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

