Strong Convictions

While I often shake my head at some of the religious bollocks that emanates from the US, I would do well to remember that here in the Netherlands we have many examples of our own.

The latest is of a Dutch school having to pulp 3,000 diaries printed for the pupils because some parents are convinced that they contain a sign of Satan. And what’s the sign, you ask? It’s the Peace sign. You know, the one designed by Gerald Holtom in 1958.

School board chairman Johan van Puten is reported to have said:

‘The conviction of the parents that the symbol was unacceptable was so strong that I knew a rigorous approach was the only solution’

Someone should point out to him that strong convictions do not necessarily equate to them being correct. And in this instance, it’s clearly the parents who need education as much as, if not more than, their children.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Strong Convictions

  1. Matt Healy says:

    I make my living as a research scientist. One of the hardest lessons to learn in science is that nature does not care what I think, so the intensity of my belief in some hypothesis does not indicate its probability of being true.

Leave a Reply

