“Clearly”

It’s a word that I use a lot in my blog posts: “Clearly”.

I use it where others might deploy “Obviously” or “Without a shadow of a doubt” or “It must be patently obvious to all people with more than one brain cell to rub together that…

And today I read that Tory MP David Jones, the Welsh Secretary, no less, has used the same word in an interview. He said:

“I regard marriage as an institution that has developed over many centuries, essentially for the provision of a warm and safe environment for the upbringing of children, which is clearly something that two same-sex partners can’t do”.

Clearly, David Jones is a fuckwit. Clearly, some people voted for him to represent them. Clearly, they should be regretting that they ever thought that he had any ability to think things through. Clearly, if ever I happened to find myself in his constituency, I would not be voting for either him or his idiotic ideas.

Clearly.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in LGBT Politics, News and politics, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Clearly”

  1. Simon Bradley says:

    What an idiot! It’s disappointing that the people of Wales would elect such a fuckwit, as you so rightly label him. Fortunately, the Conservatives are relatively underrepresented in Wales (8/40 MPs and 14/60 Assembly seats). But those numbers are still too high for my liking! (Well, clearly, zero would be optimal.)

  2. Mark says:

    I don’t understand, does he really feel that two same-sex partners are incapable of creating a warm and safe environment for the upbringing of children? how sad, to be incapable of believing in the goodness of people.

  3. Pingback: Parenthood Is No Place For Perfectionists | Geoff Coupe's Blog

Leave a Reply

