What’s Sauce for the Goose…

…is sauce for the gander.

Not being a Catholic, I have little skin in the game. However, given that Pope Benedict has little time for us homosexual secularists, and has made it plain enough, I just thought that I would muse on the fact that:

a) He seems keen on pointing out that contraception is a thwarting of God’s will, whilst at the same time being happy to…

b) …have a pacemaker fitted to extend his allotted time in this vale of tears. God might well feel cheated at the presumption.

I gain no joy and I shed no tears at his relinquishing of the Papal crown, knowing full well that the next wearer will be stamped from the same ultra-conservative, human-hating mould.

As a bit of light relief, here’s Crispian Jago’s version of the Situation Vacant ad:

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Sauce for the Goose…

  1. JL says:

    Coupe, I rejoiced at the news. Perhaps that was over-emoted. I haven’t followed his track record closely so I don’t know for sure. Has he done anything to endear himself to humanity? Even our own Prime Minister, in response to the news of his resignation, said something along the lines of “… will live in the hearts of Canadians forever …” and I thought what Canadians is he referring to? AND I guess that’s the kind of thing politicians say when they just can’t think of anything else.

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Perhaps Mr. Harper was thinking along the lines of Benedict being some sort of heart tumour? I don’t think Ratzinger has ever done endearment in his life – even empathy seems far out of his reach.

Leave a Reply

