A Small Demonstration

I admit that I am getting fed up with two things.

  • The constant drip-drip of people complaining about Windows 8, and how it is a disaster of epic proportions.
  • Microsoft’s seeming inability to market Windows 8 as something that really is a step change for the better.

So it gives me some pleasure to be able to claim that someone, somewhere in Microsoft knows how to do proper marketing. Enter the (small) demonstrator.

I really like the punchline at the end. It punctures prejudices on a number of levels.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Small Demonstration

  1. Al Feersum says:

    Personally I’m looking forward to getting my hands on an 8 device, though I’m not prepared to update my existing OSs simply because I don’t have any Touch capable hardware (apart from the Lumia 800). What’s the point of having a Touch optimised UI without having anything to use it with?

    But… something that might interest you Geoff (it certainly piqued my interest, anyway): http://www.neowin.net/news/rumor-nokia-to-unveil-tablet-in-february-at-mwc-2013

    And if it has some Phone capability too (e.g. 3/4G, location sensors etc), it’ll be the killer tablet…

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Yes, but Al, you don’t need touch-capable hardware to be able to enjoy Windows 8… I’m using it on my desktop with mouse/keyboard, and I still have no intention to revert back to Windows 7.

      With regard to the Nokia – it could be good, so long as it is NOT a Windows RT tablet. I want backwards compatibility with the 25+years of Windows…

  2. Jim says:

    Hi Geoff, good video. Seems MS never can do anything without scores of nay-sayers coming out of the wood work. I’ve been using Win8 since the end of Aug, coupled with Server 2012 essentials since mid nov (thanks to TechNet subscription) on my non-touch hardware. I’ve found both to be rock solid performers and have had no real glitches. There have been a few java type errors here and there however a required update fixed the minor woes. With the cost factor aside, I think (imho) its a viable alternate to win7 or older OS. I agree though that a tablet with Win8RT could be too trimmed down to be worthwhile. I have to admit though I couldn’t go forward without the start menu so the 3rd party apps do help cross the bridge.

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Hi Jim. I’ve been running W8 since the Consumer Preview last February, and never once considered going back to W7 (apart from on our HTPC, but that’s another story). I must say that I don’t miss the Start button on the desktop at all – the Start Screen is fine. I don’t really see the point of the 3rd party Start button apps, but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

