“Windows 8 is Windows 7+1”

I’ve mentioned before how much I’ve been surprised by the level of vitriol and hatred that has been unleashed against Microsoft’s forthcoming Windows 8 operating system. Everywhere I turn, on tech blogs and forums, there are articles, posts and threads complaining about the “disaster” that is Windows 8. Opinions galore, often complete with falsehoods stated as facts.

I find it all a bit bemusing. To be sure, Windows 8 is not without blemishes, but it’s hardly a disaster. I actually like it. I’ll be upgrading my release preview of Windows 8 to the full Windows 8 Pro when it is released on October 26. I certainly will not be returning to Windows 7.

So it’s something of a relief to find a kindred spirit in the form of Scott Hanselman, who describes Windows 8 as Windows 7+1:

Maybe I’m too relaxed but after a few days and some hotkeys I’ve found Windows 8 to be Windows 7+1. Works fine, no crashes, lots of improvements. I spend most of my desktop time in Windows apps, all of which work. I keep News apps or Video apps in full screen on other monitors and I do move the Start Screen around but generally the whole thing has been a non-issue.

And he actually shows why he has reached this conclusion in a detailed post. It’s worth reading.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Windows 8 is Windows 7+1”

  1. MarkB says:

    Perhaps so but for the average desktop user, there is little here for them. Expecting people to learn new windows-key combinations just because its more difficult to do familiar things is not much of an endorsement. All of the “pin it to the task bar” sounds good until you realize that the defaults are ALWAYS to Metro (sorry, Windows-8-style) apps and cant easily be changed. Double-click on a picture and you are dumped into the pic viewer and have to figure out how to get back to your files.

    For laptop and small-screen people I think all the chromeless stuff will be great, but when a tech-savvy person after having it installed for a month and is now saying “have got myself productive again” – I wouldn’t consider that much of a success-story.

  2. Pingback: Windows 10 Technical Previews | Geoff Coupe's Blog

Leave a Reply

