Just Testing

This blog post was been created in Microsoft’s Word 2013. Up until now, I’ve been using Microsoft’s Windows Live Writer very happily to do all my blogging with. However, I suspect the writing is on the wall (as it were), and Microsoft will be killing Windows Live Writer off in the not-too-distant future. So now I will probably have to get used to another tool. I’m not overly happy with using Word, but I’ll give it a try for a while.

It does seem to be a bit of a step backwards from Windows Live Writer. For example, WLW had a facility to add in a photo album, but I’m not sure that Word can do this, it only seems to deal with individual images.

It also seems to be getting confused with special characters. I’ve just opened a previous blog entry (Windows 8 “Play to” Revisted), and Word seems to think the title is:

Windows 8 “Play to” Revisited

 And while Word’s template supports the WordPress Categories that I’ve set up, it doesn’t appear to support Tags in the template.

Oh gawd – now it’s gone and changed the font…

And I can’t see how I can retrieve older posts for revision, or open the pages (e.g. “About”) on my blog. I’m not impressed.

Oh well, one step forwards, two steps back – as usual.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just Testing

  1. Ludwig says:

    I also just tested Word 2013 as a blogging tool. My opinion is – well, the word that comes to mind is not proper in polite company. See my test post: http://ludwigkeck.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/using-word-2013-as-a-blogging-tool/

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Yes, I saw that; there’s lots of us trying it out, but I don’t think many of us are particularly impressed so far.

      Perhaps it will grow on me, but I was perfectly happy with Live Writer…

      • Technogran says:

        Same here! It’s not even as good as some of the online blogging editors such as WordPress or Blogger! If their intention is to let Writer die a death, then all I can say is whoever is making all the decisions needs their heads testing. Besides which , Word will not be free, Writer is.

  2. MarkB says:

    I would be interested in your review of Office2013. I haven’t tried it for blogging but my early feedback is “too white” – however that may just be me. Send us some blog entries on how you are doing with it!

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Yes, it is rather sparse, isn’t it? Word 2007 looks almost baroque by comparison. And if it ain’t baroque, don’t fix it… Sorry, I’ll get my coat.

      I’m not sure whether I’ll attempt an in-depth review of Office 2013. I don’t know that I have the stamina, and I’m sure plenty of others will cover this. But I may well jot down a few things that strike me as time goes on. But even at this early stage, I think that Windows Live Writer runs rings around Word 2013 as a blogging tool. WordPress needs Word 2013 like a fish needs a bicycle.

      Having said all that, I have to say that OneNote MX is an interesting tool with a genuinely innovative UI. It may be a pointer of things to come.

  3. MarkB says:

    (groan) – lol

  4. Pingback: Blogging on the Surface | Geoff Coupe's Blog

Leave a Reply

