Tracing The Family Tree

I’ve mentioned my family tree on the blog before. That post got responses from distant relatives whom I never knew I had. So here’s another post, prompted by my brother and one of my cousins, in the hope that we might get back in contact with a particular long-lost relative.

I’ll start with my maternal grandparents: Edward Thomas Johnson and Eleanor Johnson:

Grandparents Kate & Ted Johnson 1942.

They had six children, three boys and three girls. In order of age (eldest first), they were Claude, Olive (my mother), Hilda, Eric, Murray, and Eugenie.

This post concerns my uncle: Murray Johnson (born 7 October 1912, died 31 March 1988).

Now, I only have a scattering of photos of Murray. Here are three examples: one as a toddler, one as a youngish man (on the right in glasses), and one taken in 1987, flanked by his nephews – me, the obviously gay one on the left in the picture, and my brother on the right.

Family0152

Family0158

Murray, G & M, Richmond Park, July 1987

Murray had three marriages. The first was to Jane Foreman. The second to Violet Gray, and the last to Barbara Pavitt. As a child, and a teenager, I can only ever recall Barbara, I can’t recall anything of his previous partners.

Now, the point of this post is that Murray and Jane had a daughter: Juanita Johnson, born in 1940, in Brentford, England.

My older brother tells me that Juanita was adopted, and thus grew up in a family other than either of her birth parents.

So now: I have put this message in a virtual bottle and I have cast it out into the ocean of the internet.

Should Juanita, or her descendants, ever retrieve this and would like to get in touch with us, then we would be delighted to hear from you…

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

