Origami Computing

As you may be aware, I’ve been following the development of Microsoft’s Windows 8 operating system with some interest.

I confess that I have been somewhat taken aback at the amount of negative press that Windows 8 has been receiving, both from technology pundits and users, because I’m finding Windows 8 rather exciting. I’ve been using it on my main desktop PC since the Windows 8 Consumer Preview was released in February, and I’ve never thought for a moment about uninstalling it and going back to Windows 7. Indeed, I’m looking forward to the Release Preview of Windows 8 that will be available in a couple of weeks.

It’s true that my joy over Windows 8 has not been entirely unalloyed. At the moment, I have a list of three negatives:

I can live with the first two, but the last does worry me. New PC systems are increasingly based on UEFI/GPT technology, so I am likely to be faced with a problem in the future if Microsoft don’t fix this. Update: I’ve gathered all the bugs, quirks, and WTFs that I’ve found in Windows 8 thus far into one place: here.

It seems to me that with Windows 8, Microsoft has a chance to move personal computing into a new era, one where not only can a range of computing devices (PCs, Tablets, Smartphones) share a common operating system and applications, but where the hardware itself can have a range of flexibility that goes beyond what we have seen so far.

I got a taste of this with my old HP TX2000 Tablet PC, but running Windows 7, it couldn’t deliver what will be possible with Windows 8.

Paul Thurrott touches upon this in his latest opinion piece. I think he is right. My next PC purchase is unlikely to be a Desktop PC. It will be a Slate, running Windows 8, based on Intel’s Broadwell. It will have multitouch and a pressure-sensitive stylus. I will be able to carry it around and take notes/photos/videos on the move, and I’ll be able to plug it into multiple monitors, a keyboard, and a mouse for my next generation Desktop.

We are at the dawn of Origami Computing. Apple and Android are way behind.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Consumer Electronics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Origami Computing

  1. Pingback: Some People Just Don’t Grok It | Geoff Coupe's Blog

  2. Pingback: “Windows 8 is Windows 7+1” | Geoff Coupe's Blog

  3. Pingback: Keep Taking The Tablets | Geoff Coupe's Blog

  4. Pingback: Surface – The Next Generation | Geoff Coupe's Blog

  5. Pingback: For the Want of a Nail… | Geoff Coupe's Blog

Leave a Reply

