OK, So I’m Old…

Scott Hanselman has a post about computer icons that refer to dead technology.

Depressingly, I found that I knew all of them firsthand. In my defense, I claim that books are not a dead technology.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to OK, So I’m Old…

  1. Matt Healy says:

    Another one missed in that post: the hourglass icon! I also remember those obsolete technologies, once upon a time I owned a car with an 8-track player. Those who don’t remember 8-track tapes also don’t remember extracting a snarled tape from the player!

  2. coffeemike says:

    If it makes you feel better, *I* experienced all of the original sources firsthand. So, either now I’m old or you’re not as old as you thought you were – see it however you like.

    I also disagree about the visual voicemail icon – clearly it’s meant to resemble a cassette tape, or possibly reel-reel, but certainly not 110 film. (Although I can see the likeness. And have used 110 film.)

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Mike, yes, cassette is the most likely – probably the mini-cassette that was used in Dictaphones and answering machines. And thank you for making me feel slightly less old…

Leave a Reply

