Picasa versus WLPG Redux

Yesterday, I wrote up a comparison between the current versions of Picasa and Windows Live Photo Gallery. Lying awake in the small hours last night, I thought of additional things that I should have covered in the comparison. So if you read the entry yesterday, I suggest you take another look at it. It’s now been considerably reworked and expanded.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Picasa versus WLPG Redux

  1. Metafan says:

    Before 3.9 had you tried AvPicFaceXmp allowing to tag face in Picasa and use them in WLPG?

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      I knew of AvPicFaceXmp, but I hadn’t used it, because I was not using Picasa, and the reason that I wasn’t using Picasa was because of the geotag display bug…

      Now with version 3.9, I’m trying Picasa again, and using it primarily for face tagging. My main tool remains IDimager.

  2. Metafan says:

    You are using a pretty detailed method for tagging, have you considered also a way to managed the people tags, I have just people 1,000 faces and I would like to have grouping option.

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      I just have two categories for people whose faces I tag: Family and Friends, and these categories are part of the hierarchy of Descriptive Tags. While I have more categories under the “People” class, I haven’t bothered doing any face tagging in these photos where they have faces of people who are not either family or friends. This might change in the future.

      For the moment, I will continue to rely on the flexibility of a hierarchy of descriptive tags to be able to slice and dice the collection of photos.

Leave a Reply

