Bad Timing

My HP TX2000 Tablet PC died this week, just as I wanted to put the Windows 8 Developer Preview on it. It won’t boot, or even display the BIOS screen. It turns out that this problem is fairly common, and apparently caused by the video chip.

As is usual with these things, the three-year warranty that I had with the Tablet expired 6 months ago, so getting it repaired, even if it is possible, will not be cheap. It’s probably better to cut my losses by salvaging what I can from the Tablet (e.g. the hard disk) and dumping the rest.

I haven’t got another machine lying around that I can install the Developer Preview on, so I’m just going to have to curb my curiosity. Perhaps I should just wait until Windows 8 Tablets start appearing in the market (end 2012?). However, I must admit that I am sorely tempted by Samsung’s Series 7 Slate PC that is supposedly going to be available next month. But then again, I think that the Financial Controller (a.k.a. Martin) will probably be reluctant to authorise the expenditure…

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Consumer Electronics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bad Timing

  1. Ludwig says:

    That is the problem with modern electronics, not economically repairable. I have a laptop that lost its video, I use it now – with the covers off – as a demo in computer classes.
    On Windows 8 you may have saved yourself a lot of aggravation. I tried to install it in VMware Player – no go. Got it to work in VirtualBox but it kept hanging up. Finally gave it 3GB memory and two processors, also allowed it to “mellow”, it now seems to work ok. The Metro-style interface is rather overwhelming on a 23-inch monitor. I don’t have a touch screen and the mouse takes some getting used to. The delevoler release does not come with many of the apps that will be part of Windows 8 like Photo Gallery, Messenger, etc. The next release should be more interesting.

  2. Pingback: The iPad is Not a PC–Take 2 | Geoff Coupe's Blog

Leave a Reply

