World IPv6 Day

The very first World IPv6 day was, er, yesterday. There’s a good explanation of what it was all about by Richard Cooper on the BBC’s Internet blog.

I have to say that it passed very uneventfully for me, the internet continued to work…

The day before I had set up my new ADSL router/modem, which I got on free loan from my Internet Service Provider, XS4ALL. They’ve always been at the forefront of internet technologies – the company was originally started as a Foundation back in 1993 to offer access to the Internet to private individuals. The only ISP operating in the Netherlands at the time (NLnet) offered its services only to companies. NLnet thought that there was no market in offering access to the Internet to the consumer – what a mistake that turned out to be.

XS4ALL has been using IPv6 alongside IPv4 since last year; for example, 194.109.6.92 is the IPv4 address and 2001:888:0:18::80 the IPv6 address of www.xs4all.nl. With the advent of the first World IPv6 day, they’ve been actively trying to get their customers to register for an IPv6 address alongside their existing IPv4 address. That’s what I did on Monday, and the new addressing service seems to work OK for me. I now have both an IPv4 address and an IPv6 address at home. And with that new IPv6 address in place, I can also now access web sites that have IPv6 addresses, such as ipv6.bbc.co.uk. Of course, for the foreseeable future, the major web sites will have dual addresses in place, but the transition has now begun. IPv4 addresses are almost used up, and IPv6 addresses are starting to come on stream.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

