A Damp Squib Splutters Into Life

I see that Windows Home Server 2011 has been released to manufacturing. So it should be available on the market in April/May.

I’m sorry, but I can only raise a faint cheer about this product. It doesn’t strike me as a major step forward from the original Windows Home Server, and in some respects – notably the removal of the Drive Extender technology – it is a step backwards.

The comparison datasheet is long on marketing and short on actual comparison with WHSv1, and that’s not really surprising.

What really gets to me is that Microsoft had the chance to build upon the base of WHSv1 as a server and media appliance that could be used by the average consumer, and they’ve thrown that chance away.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Consumer Electronics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Damp Squib Splutters Into Life

  1. WeeHappyPixie says:

    I also think it will be a damp squib and Microsoft could have made this such a great product.

    John.

    P.S. I love the picture on your blog. Nice house and garden. I used to work in Zootermeer and like you love the country. I almost move there.

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Thanks, John. I think all we can do now is sit back and let the market deliver its verdict.

      Re the Netherlands. I’m fortunate that I’m able to live in one of the few parts of the country that isn’t totally built up. There are still traces of the countryside around here. Being able to walk to a wood along a track running between fields in under ten minutes is very good for the soul.

  2. Pingback: My WHS 2011 Experience (Thus Far) | Geoff Coupe's Blog

  3. Pingback: RIP, Windows Home Server… | Geoff Coupe's Blog

Leave a Reply

