Frankenstein Redux

After last week’s viewing of the NT’s production of Frankenstein, yesterday I saw it again. This time with Jonny Lee Miller in the role of the Creature and with Benedict Cumberbatch as Victor Frankenstein.

I think this was the casting that worked best as far as I’m concerned. Good though last week’s combination of Cumberbatch/Creature and Miller/Frankenstein were, it seemed to me that last night’s role reversal played better to the actors’ strengths. Miller brought an extra vulnerability to the role of the Creature, while Cumberbatch was an icier Frankenstein.

Unfortunately, unlike last week, there were a few problems with last night’s broadcast. The audio was slightly out of sync with the video, to the extent where it was noticeable and therefore somewhat irritating. At one point we heard a snatch of conversation between the technical crew. And finally, during the final scene, the sound cut out altogether for about ten seconds.

Still, despite these technical disappointments, it was still a wonderful production to see again, and I’m glad I did.

Addendum: I’ve had a reply to the email I sent to NT Live regarding the technical hitches I listed above. The sync issue was a fault at my local venue, and NT Live will follow that up with Cinemec to try and prevent it happening again in the future. The other two issues were problems in the Olivier theatre during the live performance, for which they apologise. I look forward to seeing future NT Live broadcasts – it’s a great way to see the work of the NT.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Performing Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frankenstein Redux

  1. Robert Dammers says:

    Geoff, I read your first comment on my RSS feed, and barely engaged brain (to the extent that I assumed you had been in London). And it turns out that our local Odeon (no fleapit, and a couple of miles away on the same side of town) carries the same feeds. I knew that they had occasional Glyndebourne performances (and at present I can afford to keep up my membership, but not really go!), but the range of stuff is amazing! I’m persuaded that I really must see Barbiere live from Parma next month. What a wonderful idea!

    Best wishes,
    Robert

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Robert, despite the occasional technical glitch, these transmissions are certainly worth it. It gives those of us out in the wilds the chance to catch world-class productions. I’ll certainly be keeping an eye on what’s coming up.

  2. kathleenmcil says:

    Hi Geoff, Jealous you saw the role reversal, and especially jealous if you say it was even better than the Cumberbatch/Creature – Miller/Frankenstein combo! Is a shame about the technical hitches, though sounds like you still managed to enjoy it.
    Thanks for the link to your blog!
    All the best from London town,
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

