“A Disturbing Trend”

Today’s title is a quote from Archbishop Silvano Tomasi. Apparently, according to Reuters,

People who criticise gay sexual relations for religious or moral reasons are increasingly being attacked and vilified for their views, a Vatican diplomat told the United Nations Human Rights Council on Tuesday.

Archbishop Silvano Tomasi said the Roman Catholic Church deeply believed that human sexuality was a gift reserved for married heterosexual couples. But those who express these views are faced with “a disturbing trend,” he said.

“People are being attacked for taking positions that do not support sexual behaviour between people of the same sex,” he told the current session of the Human Rights Council.

“When they express their moral beliefs or beliefs about human nature … they are stigmatised, and worse — they are vilified, and prosecuted.

“These attacks are violations of fundamental human rights and cannot be justified under any circumstances,” Tomasi said.

Oh, dear god, where to begin?

Well, perhaps with Russell Blackford:

The most important thing about this is its one small grain of truth: you should not be prosecuted for expressing such evil views as that engaging in consensual homosexual conduct makes you a “sinnner”, or “emotionally disordered”, or whatever else these bastards want to say. Freedom of speech should enable you to say, quite legally, all sorts of ugly, vicious things.

Freedom of speech also should enable others to point out that these are, in fact, ugly vicious things … and that only a vile person would say such things. When you say these things, it shows your true character.

Silvano wants his cronies to have freedom of speech. Fine. I agree. But he doesn’t want the rest of us to have it. He’s not only vile – he’s a hypocrite, like the rest of his kind.

And then, perhaps also Ophelia Benson has a point:

Or to put it another way, gay people are increasingly being attacked and vilified by reactionary religious fanatics who think they should have the power to tell everyone everywhere what to do down to the smallest detail.

But although I am disgusted by people such as Archbishop Silvano Tomani, I should perhaps take the line of Steve Zara, and laugh at Tomani:

I’m rather enjoying this, I have to say. I’m a relatively mild-mannered fellow who sort of muddles through life in a vague way, and now I’m becoming a threat to human rights and a source of evil. It’s all rather exciting. I need to think of an evil look. Perhaps I could wear sunglasses indoors or something like that. I have not put as much effort into being evil in the past as I might have.

Perhaps, when me and my partner had a civil partnership ceremony with our families and friends in attendance, we should have played the start of Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D minor with evil laughter rather than Tales from Topographic Oceans as we signed the register. Our small house on the borders of Coventry looks rather meek and harmless. Perhaps we should attach some gargoyles and Satanic symbols. We have a gentle Labrador, when perhaps we should have got a white cat to stroke.

Yes, I know what you mean, Steve. Our Labradors bounce around rather too much, instead of snarling and showing their fangs. But, I suppose when you get down to the heart of it, Russell nailed it: what Archbishop Tomasi said was ugly and vicious. It shows his true character. I see you, Archbishop.

.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in LGBT Politics, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “A Disturbing Trend”

  1. adamandtony says:

    I’m with Steve Zara on this: let’s laugh at those poor “vilified and persecuted” proponents of traditional values.

  2. j says:

    I agree with freedom of speech, people should think and believe whatever it is they want to believe but when you start to impose your ideas about “God” and the world upon others thats when I draw the damn line. Let me tell you the other day I was assaulted by one of these crazy, psychologically disturb individuals who wasn’t all there mentally with a weapon in his hand while this individual was profession God right in front of me on the train, this man pointed at me and said “repent, repent”. Now you can think what you want to, yes I’m a gay male, but I carry myself with dignity, I don’t go around imposing my gayness or how I feel on others i don’t try to make other people gay, but you see when you have these sorts of religious ideologies, and quote on quote dogma’s from this man made bible that is suppose to be the word of “God”, it can have the most dangerous and negative effects upon the society, my case is just one out of many. What I do with another individual sexually is no bodies fucking business point blank, why do people even care what others do so long as it doesn’t hurt another. People in my opinion often times cannot see beyond the indoctrination that has shaped the ideas and thus the behaviors of society itself, its can be relatively easy to understand yet why is there so much hate in this world, why can’t people live as one, its simple yet complicated but my conclusion is , is that this is the reality of the situation, to want a better world is an ideology itself, we have to deal with the realities and the realties of human nature are disturbing, look at the Nazis for instance, they didn’t care about killing millions of Jews, look at Rwanda which was perhaps the biggest form of genocide. People against other people all because of an idea, and ideological system of thought about what man should be or shouldn’t, also look at what happen with Native Americans, look my whole point is no one ever stops and ask really what is the point of this perpetual hatred, perhaps it is a fundamental existential question; life would be rather too simple if we just all got along nicely, or just maybe there is a system of control that governs people lives, a covert indoctrination of the masses via television and media, and books, the same system that engendered slavery, the same system that invented religion as we know it to keep the poor peasant people working, we are living in the matrix open you eyes.

    Peace, love and blessings
    contact info: wherebrooklynatny@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

