Review of Windows Phone 7

There’s an excellent in-depth review of Microsoft’s Windows Phone 7 over at MobileTechWorld. Well worth checking out if you’re interested to read a clear-eyed view of WP7.

I note also that the reviewer has pointed out the problem that Microsoft has created for itself in the Marketplace infrastructure:

Unfortunately there’s a really important issue that Microsoft doesn’t seem to really care about: it is impossible to change your Zune/Xbox Live country location once it is create[d] and linked to your Hotmail account. I created it nearly 5 years ago just to check an Xbox 360 demo that was only available in the US and I’m now stuck with it because it’s tied to my main Hotmail account. The end result is that I can’t buy anything using this account (needs a US credit card). Come on Redmond! Just give me the ability to choose the local Marketplace I want to buy from on the fly. Let me download free apps and trials in the US and buy apps where I live. Or simply allow me to correct my location.

Until Microsoft correct this Marketplace misstep, I’m not even considering the purchase of a Windows Phone.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Consumer Electronics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review of Windows Phone 7

  1. technogran1 says:

    Me neither, what a shame!

  2. Pingback: Microsoft’s Marketplace Mess | Geoff Coupe's Blog

  3. Pingback: Petitioning Microsoft | Geoff Coupe's Blog

Leave a Reply

