Sherlock, Shit, No…

My way of saying that I was rather disappointed in last night’s episode of Sherlock. While the first episode was a real cracker, I thought that, by comparison, last night’s was a bit of a mess. Cumberbatch and Freeman were still very good, but the standard of the writing (this week by Stephen Thompson) was nowhere near as sharp or as deep as last week’s opener by Steven Moffat.

There were some flashes of brilliance, though, so it wasn’t all bad; but they were just that: flashes. I liked the scene between the mortuary assistant and Sherlock; that really did build on last week’s business between the two, with Sherlock beginning to understand the power of compliments in social interactions, even if he was using it shamelessly to gain access to a particular body in the mortuary.

And there were some nice visual touches, the use of tilt-shift focus in some of the shots of London to make it look like a model of the city instead of the real thing.

But overall, a bit of a disappointment, I’m sorry to say. I see that Sam Wollaston, the Guardian’s TV critic, thought that last night’s episode was even better than the first, so I suppose it’s all just a matter of personal opinion. However, as Mark Kermode would say: I’m right and he’s wrong

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Television. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

