Olympic Mascots

I see that the mascots for the 2012 Olympics to be held in London have been unveiled. They have the improbable names of Wenlock and Mandeville, and apparently figure in a children’s story specially commissioned for the Olympics and written by Michael Morpogu.

I have to confess that I have never heard of him before Sir Sebastian Coe claimed that Morpogu was “the nation’s most popular children’s storyteller”. Er, really? Anyway, Mr. Morpogu has his own website, and I have to say that he sounds rather engaging.

Still, Wenlock and Mandeville? I think it’s going to be an uphill struggle – rather like the London Olympics themselves. The comments on the Guardian’s story do rather spell it out:

Obby:

I think I speak for everyone when I say:
Jesus Fucking Christ

PaulBowen:

Because nothing says "Britain" like a creepy bipedal showerhead/penis thing with lobster claws.

DataHoover:

I have to get this off my chest:
Doesn’t the new Olympic logo look like Lisa Simpson performing a sex act?

And that’s only a selection…

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

