Moving In Mysterious Ways

Last week, I ordered a new monitor from Dell. Yesterday, I received an email from Dell telling me that the monitor had been despatched from the warehouse, and was on its way via UPS. The email also gave a link to a UPS web page that tracks the progress of the package.
 
I confess I am confused. So far, the package seems to have come into the Netherlands at Eindhoven airport yesterday, from where it was promptly despatched to Brussels in Belgium. Hello? This seems to be a case of one step forward, two steps back. Brussels is twice as far away from here than Eindhoven is, and it’s in another country. UPS seem convinced that the package will be delivered today. We’ll see.
 
This is not the first time that I’ve had experience of UPS moving stuff around in mysterious ways. A few years back, a Dell system was despatched to me from Ireland. It first travelled to Rotterdam, then was sent to France, where it languished for a few days, and eventually was returned to Rotterdam for delivery to me a few kilometers away in Gouda.
 
Update: …Their wonders to perform… Well, it arrived shortly before 1PM today. I still think that sending it further away to Brussels seems a bit bizarre, but there you go…

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Organizations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving In Mysterious Ways

  1. Bal says:

    So much for carbon footprints, eh? Well presumably the monitor is in charcoal grey colour anyway? That’s about as carbon friendly as this is going to get! 😉

Leave a Reply

