Darwin’s Dangerous Idea

We’re just under a year away from the 150th anniversary of the publication of Charles Darwin’s “On the Origin of Species” and a couple of months away from the bicentenary of his birth. As part of the celebrations, New Scientist has brought together a collection of the top ten of its in-depth articles that deal with evolution.

I’ve had a small pocket version of “The Origin of Species” for a number of years now, but this Christmas, I decided to treat myself to an altogether weightier tome: “On the Origin of Species: The Illustrated Edition”. This contains the same text that Charles Darwin penned, but it is supplemented by extracts from his autobiography, notebooks and letters, as well as a plethora of illustrations. I’m very much looking forward to re-discovering his masterwork. As the editor, David Quammen, writes in his introduction: “On the Origin of Species is a book every literate person should read. Equally important: It’s a book every literate person can enjoy”.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Darwin’s Dangerous Idea

  1. Wai says:

    I absolutely love Darwin. He’s an awesome individual. I went to see Darwin’s exhibition last year and I spent 4 hours there! Really enjoyed learning about him and his work.I’m putting this book in my wish list on Amazon. Thanks for your recommendation.

  2. Geoff says:

    Thanks, Waimon. I hope that you get this edition, it’s absolutely wonderful.

Leave a Reply

