Windows Live Wave 3

I see that the latest versions of the standalone applications (including Windows Live Mail, Windows Live Photo Gallery and Windows Live Writer) have now been released. This download page is still currently describing the applications as “beta”, but the applications themselves seem to have dropped that moniker from their titles.

I’m pleased to see that at least one bug in Windows Live Photo Gallery that I reported to Microsoft over a year ago has finally been corrected.

I’m using Windows Live Writer to create this post, and one thing that I want to check is how it handles image metadata. While it’s very easy to use WLW to insert images into your blog, the previous version seemed to be stripping out image metadata, and therefore creating orphan works, which I think is a very bad idea. So, here’s a test image, which in the original has my copyright information and IPTC Coreinformation as metadata embedded in the file.

20080915-1152-07(1)

Once an image is published in my blog, it can be downloaded from there as well. Let’s see what has happened to the metadata…

Yep, all the metadata has been stripped out – copyright, creator, keywords – everything. That’s not good, in my opinion.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Windows Live Wave 3

  1. Brandon says:

    I am one of the developers of Windows Live Writer. You are correct we don’t support this right now.Thank you for the feedback though!Also, keep in mind that if you publish a photo album using the new version of WLW it will save the metadata when it uploads the pictures that are part of the album.I’ll keep your feature request in mind as we move into planning for our next release.

  2. Geoff says:

    Brandon, thank you for your comment. I hope that you will support preservation of metadata in future releases. After all, WLPG does it – and for all resolutions, too – so similar behaviour from WLW would be more than welcome.

Leave a Reply

