Knowing The Cost of Everything…

… and the value of nothing. That aphorism came into my head as I watched the performance of Sir David King, president of the British Association for the Advancement of Science on Newsnight.  He apparently believes that the money that has been spent on the Large Hadron Collider could have been better spent on more directed research, for instance in combating climate change.
 
Fortunately, Professor Brian Cox was on hand to pound King’s argument into tiny little pieces. It’s a truly magisterial smackdown. But I’m left with the uneasy thought that if King holds these bean-counter ideals, what’s he doing as president of the BAAS?

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.