Island Imagery

I see that Google Earth has at last got higher resolution imagery for the Isle of Man. I can now clearly see at least some of the houses where I lived as a child. But the old Ivanhoe hotel, where I spent most of my childhood, was demolished some years back – a car park now marks the spot.
 
The Google Earth and Maps team introduce the new imagery by running a quiz on their blog. The Isle of Man was supposedly the answer to this bizarre question:
9) The currency of this island is known as Manx. 
Er, no it isn’t. That’s like saying that the currency of England is known as English. Sigh.
 
Update: Gawd, it gets worse. In the blog entry providing the answers, the Google team say that the Isle of Man is part of England. No, it isn’t, you stupid people!

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

