Family History Revisited

Earlier this year, I blogged about a piece of our family history. As a result, I was contacted by a distant relative, and we’ve been able to piece together some more details about my great-great-great grandfather and great-great grandparents. She provided us with this photo of the great-great grandparents. I’ve updated the original blog entry. Fascinating stuff.
John and Corra Johnson

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Family, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family History Revisited

  1. Pete says:

    I cannot believe this. I started searching my family history this year. I too had the stories of the Indian connection and the scrambled military name. I found the John and Corra Johnson connection about a month ago and was at Kew this week finding John’s record in the 2nd Life Guards. That record gave their date of marriage as 22nd August, 1849 at Christ Church in London. I did not know Corra’s maiden name and thought at that time that she was full Indian. I cannot find that marriage on the central records so I was trying to locate the church or anything about Corra when I turned up your blog. My ancestry is John & Corra/Mary Grace Johnson/Corra Alexandria Veal/Phyllis Lillian Griss/Me (Pete). The photographs are great. When I hit the double, it was a bit emotional. I think Corra had a hard time. I also feel a bit of a cheat and don’t know where to go from here. Can you tell me what happened to John Johnson after he left the army in 1865? I have Corra alone with the four children in the 1871 census.

  2. Geoff says:

    Hallo Pete,I’ve sent you a private message about this. Welcome to the clan…

Leave a Reply

