Windows Home Server

I mentioned the forthcoming Windows Home Server product last month. It’s currently in beta test, and Microsoft have recently widened the scope of testing. There have been over 25,000 people asking to participate in the test. Last Saturday, yours truly received an email from the Windows Home Server team to say that my request to be included in the test had been accepted. So I’m currently kicking the tyres.
It has promise, but it’s still clearly at an early beta stage. And I’d still like to see what I pointed out last month – there’s no facility to be able to take backups for offsite storage. It’s all very well having a central server in the home, but if your home goes up in flames, you’ve still lost all your data…
I see that the marketing wing of Microsoft are already busy with their Stop Digital Amnesia campaign. Fairly toecurling stuff – and a very poor ripoff of the far superior campaign that John Cleese did for Livevault.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

