The Green Machine From Flevobike

When we went to visit Zutphen a few weeks back, we travelled on the local train. This being The Netherlands, the trains have a space that can be used for bicycles. On that day, my attention was drawn to a bicycle that was occupying the space until the owner got out at Winterswijk. It was a recumbent bike, but of a design that I’d never seen before. The label on the bike said Flevobike, so I guessed it was a Dutch design (Flevoland is one of the Dutch provinces).
I’ve now done a little scouting around the web, and the bike was one of the very latest designs from Flevobike – a Green Machine. I have to admit that it looks very stylish, and I wouldn’t mind trying one out. It turns out that there’s a dealer (ACE – Advanced Cycle Engineering) in Winterswijk, so I should go along one day and take a closer look. It’s possible to hire a recumbent bike for a day from ACE to try out.
Mind you, if I do fall in love with the Green Machine, it could prove very damaging to the wallet. The bike costs a cool 3,420 Euros. Gulp.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

