Spray It Loud

I came across a photograph reproduced on the Feministe blog here. I know this photograph. It was taken by Jill Posener (apparently in 1979) and collected, along with other photographs of graffiti, in her book Spray It Loud, published in 1982 (ISBN 0-7100-9458-2). She captured brilliant graffiti – mostly around the streets of London. I’ve got two copies of the book in my library – one is signed by Jill, dated November 1982 – I think it was bought at a CHE Winter Fair in London. She followed it up with a second book of graffiti photographs: Louder Than Words  in 1986 (ISBN 0-86358-086-6).
When I came across the Feministe entry, I didn’t know what had happened to Jill. A quick Google reveals that she’s very much alive and kicking, and now living in Berkeley, California. From starting out in the theatre company Gay Sweatshop, she became a professional photographer, and has published lots of stuff since then. I hadn’t realised it until now, but she was also the photographer who worked on another book in my collection: Out In America (ISBN 0-67085-850-1). More on her life and work at her website.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

