Restaurant Can Fabes

When I retired from Shell, my colleagues presented me with the cost of a meal at our (Martin and I) favourite restaurant: Can Fabes.

It’s been almost a year, but last week we finally returned to this three Michelin star restaurant in Sant Celoni (a small town about 50 minutes by train out of Barcelona).

Well, folks, I have to tell you that your gift was thoroughly appreciated by us. We took the Menu Primavera – a 10 course (I think, but I lost count!) meal that started with “aromatic eggs” and ended with coffee and petit fours. The aromatic eggs were sublime – a hen’s egg filled with an egg foam flavoured with rosemary, and a quail’s egg filled with a egg foam flavoured with ginger. The quail’s egg in particular made me think I’d died and gone to Heaven. Along the way we had mackerel, a bouillabaisse flavoured with saffron, baby octopus with macaroni, sweetbreads, sorbet (pear, strawberry and mandarin), and peanut icecream with a caramel tart. To accompany this magisterial meal we had a bottle of Cuvée Santamaria Finca Montagut, a bottle of Alíon 2000 and a glass of Moscatel Soleado Colosia with dessert.

Thank you. We really appreciated it.

Angels Santamaria

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Restaurant Can Fabes

  1. Pingback: RIP, Santi Santamaria | Geoff Coupe's Blog

Leave a Reply

