I Wish…

…that the upcoming Disney version of Stephen Sondheim’s Into the Woods will do justice to the material.

The first teaser trailer for the film of Into the Woods has been released, and it’s notable that there ain’t no singing in it, even though it’s a Sondheim Musical. Apparently the filmmakers have also taken out a couple of the songs and changed the plot. All of which leaves me hoping that they haven’t wrecked one of Sondheim’s best works. At least I saw the stage production of Into the Woods when it played in London back in 1990, and I have the DVD of the American Playhouse production of the work to remind me of how good it could be.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Film, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Wish…

  1. TomT says:

    It’s my understanding that Disney is downplaying the fact that it’s a musical in these early ads to avoid prematurely turning off anyone who might immediately dismiss the possibility of seeing it on that basis alone (hard as it is to believe such people exist…)

    That also explains why Sondheim’s name is not more prominently featured.

    Personally I’m more concerned about plot changes. I heard a rumor that the baker’s wife lives…

Leave a Reply

