Meet The Romans With Mary Beard

May I just say, what an absolute pleasure it was to be in the company of Professor Mary Beard last night when she introduced us to a variety of long-dead Romans.

This was TV in the very best tradition of the BBC: to educate, inform and entertain.

I’m pleased to see that I was not the only one so impressed.

Roll on next week when we get to see Professor Beard enthusiastically declaiming about the social impact of the Roman latrines…

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in History, Television. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meet The Romans With Mary Beard

  1. novocoboro says:

    I’m enjoying this series Geoff, even though the first installment had a bit much of her cycling round Rome looking rather like Paddington Bear in a bad wig.

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Yes, I think she has said that her director chose that look. It makes the brand. Still, I find it preferable that she looks natural, and not what the celebrity industry thinks a woman should look like. The real joy for me is that it’s a historical series on TV that doesn’t rely on bloody reconstructions. I can close my eyes and hear all the information. It’s radio on TV – in the very best sense.

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      BTW, I miss your writing on your blog… Hope that your blog has lapsed simply because you have better things to do…

  2. Tony Kirwood says:

    I love Mary Beard, too. Isn’t it great to have a TV presenter whose appeal is her enthusiasm and knowledge rather than the amount of Botox she’s pumped into her face. And there was a minimum of dramatics and throbbing music – just lots of insights into the Romans. Roll on her next series!

Leave a Reply

