An Orrery For The 21st Century

Ever since I was a small boy with an interest in astronomy, I’ve wanted an Orrery.

Today, 55 years further on, I’m no closer to owning my very own Orrery than ever I was.

Still, hope is on the horizon. Dr. David Brown has been working on the 21st century’s equivalent of an Orrery with his NUIverse designed for Microsoft Surface. I reckon it will be between 5 and 10 years before this trickles down to Windows 8 Tablets.

I might just be able to make it before I die.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Orrery For The 21st Century

  1. Al Feersum says:

    w00t. now!

    Makes yer sick don’t it.

  2. Al Feersum says:

    … plugged into near real-time satellite imagery…

  3. Ludwig says:

    With a coffee table like that, I’ll never get my visitors to leave – assuming that they can get me away from the table so they get a chance to play.

Leave a Reply

