The Girl Who Waited

So I was otherwise engaged last weekend when the latest episode of Doctor Who aired. I had travelled to Northern Ireland to say a final goodbye to my dearest friend. That’s another story, and I don’t feel ready to tell it, so instead I’ll turn to the artifice of The Girl Who Waited. I caught up with it today.

There’s something about a good story, well told. It can seize the heart and provoke a deep emotional reaction. The Girl Who Waited had that effect on me. Simply superb, developing from the basic setting up of the story, to the working out of the morality of how it affects the three protagonists, in particular the relationship of Rory and Amy, both balanced and unbalanced through time. As before, others can tell the story better than I.

“This is a kindness”. But, of course, it isn’t, and like the older Amy, one wants to rage against it. Arthur Darvill, and above all, Karen Gillan, as both the old and the young Amy, made this one of the best episodes of Doctor Who I’ve ever seen.

Bravo!

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Television. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

