Microsoft Slash the Price of Windows Home Server 2011

Just eight weeks after WHS 2011 became available to purchase, Microsoft have slashed the price. It’s now available to purchase for almost half of its original price. While I expected the price to fall, I didn’t think it would fall so far, so soon. I wonder whether Microsoft are trying to cut their losses on this?

As someone has just said on a forum, WHS 2011 looks as though it’s becoming the Microsoft Bob for this era…

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Microsoft Slash the Price of Windows Home Server 2011

  1. TomT says:

    So would you suggest not using it? I am considering using my old desktop machine as a home server, and was wondering if WHS would be well suited for the task (Drive Extender fiasco notwithstanding.) Lord knows I wouldn’t want to buy into another Microsoft Bob, or even another Clippy…

    • Geoff Coupe says:

      Tom, well, it’s really down to you to decide – I can’t make that decision for you :-) All I can say is that WHS v1 served me well, and saved my data (and my bacon) on a number of occasions. WHS 2011 is not the advance over v1 that I had expected it to be, but I can live with it. It will carry on the roles of taking backups of our computers and acting as the central storage of our digital media quite well. But it could have been better – I’ve listed its shortcomings often enough here in various blog posts – and that I find regrettable. I really don’t feel that Microsoft gave it their best shot.

      BTW, if you’re going to use your old desktop machine as the basis for running WHS 2011, make sure that it’s 64bit-capable hardware. WHS 2011 requires this.

Leave a Reply

