Libraries Versus Kindles

There’s an interesting post over at Stumbling and Mumbling that asks the question whether it would be more cost effective to stop funding the UK’s public Libraries, and to use the money to buy everyone a Kindle instead.

My immediate reaction was that this was yet another example of someone knowing the cost of everything, and the value of nothing. However, I recognise that the question was asked with an air of enquiry. So it’s good to see that most commenters on the post are shooting down the premise, and that, at its most basic: “Public Libraries” do not equal “Kindles”.

I’m a member of the public library in our local little town. I’ve never actually borrowed anything from it, but I continue to support it, because it’s a community resource.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Books, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

