The Dream Machine

I’ve always had a soft spot for Adventure games, ever since the original Myst. I much prefer this genre of game over the first-person shooter type, which, frankly, I find appalling.

After Myst, and its various sequels, there were a series of rather sub-standard knock-offs of the same idea. It wasn’t until Benoit Sokal’s Syberia arrived that I thought that the same standard had been achieved. That was followed by Syberia II that managed to reduce me to tears at a climatic moment in the game (for all the right reasons!). Although a Syberia III has been talked of, there’s still no sign of it appearing on the market.

In the meantime, there’s the Dream Machine, an online game using clay and cardboard models (I recall The Neverhood with fond memories!) that is surprisingly involving and immersive. You can play the first chapter for free, the subsequent chapters can be unlocked for less than €5 each.

The puzzles are not as mind-bending as in Myst, but it has a charm that I really liked. It’s the product of two Swedish nerds,  Erik Zaring and Anders Gustafsson, with help from others. It has the potential to become a classic. Try it.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Entertainment, Games. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dream Machine

  1. TomT says:

    Thanks for reminding me of The Neverhood! I so loved that game. Will have to get my old copy up and running under Windows 7 so I can show it to my daughter. I only wish it had a been a bigger commercial success. I seem to be attracted to cult phenomena (my beloved smartphone is a Palm Pre, for example.)

    I was also a big fan of Myst, though I used to enjoy a good FPS equally well. (Not enough fast twitch muscle left for the latter at my age.) I’ve always had catholic tastes in interactive entertainment.

    And thanks for introducing me to the Dream Machine. Very charming! I will definitely buy the new chapters as they arrive.

  2. Geoff Coupe says:

    Thanks Tom. I’m anxiously awaiting the next chapter of the Dream Machine as well. It’s been delayed, but hopefully it will be with us soon.

Leave a Reply

