32 or 64 Bits?

Now that Windows 7 has been released, I shall shortly be in the position to replace the beta versions of Windows 7 on our home systems with the real thing. One of the fundamental questions that I need to address is: do I go with the 32 or 64 bit version of Windows 7?

In an ideal world, of course, I would be leaping on to the magic carpet of technology that is ready and waiting to whisk me away to the land of 64-bit computing. And if you don’t understand the difference between 32 and 64 bit computing, here’s Microsoft’s take on the question.

Needless to say, it’s an utterly Panglossian take on the topic:

There’s no need to worry: Simply put, a computer running a 64-bit version of Windows 7 needs 64-bit drivers for all your hardware and devices.

Ah, but , yes, what’s that “needs” word?

What that says to me is that if all you have is a 32-bit driver for your hardware, then you’re fucked.

And so it is, my droogs. I have a Steinberg Midex 8 ; it is my MIDI interface with my synthesiser modules. And is there a 64-bit driver? Why, no, of course not. Steinberg don’t even allow the possibility of an open source driver to be developed for their obsolete hardware, So, no sensawunda 64-bit glory-filled computing dreamland for me… Welcome to yesteryear – it’s where I clearly belong. Sigh. And, thank you Steinberg, for showing me what customer support does not mean. Bastards.

Update: Mind you, Microsoft’s Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor program doesn’t help matters either. According to it, the Steinberg Midex 8 is compatible with the 64bit version of Windows 7. Er, no, it isn’t, you stupid program.

Steinberg Midex 8

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 32 or 64 Bits?

  1. Pingback: Windows 7: Some Thoughts | Geoff Coupe's Blog

Leave a Reply

