Fish In A Barrel

I know it’s like shooting fish in a barrel, but how could I resist pointing towards this pretentious twaddle spotlighted by David Thompson? There’s nothing better designed to evince howls of frustrated derision from me than a good dose of PoMo, particularly if it’s crossed with Queer Studies. Mind you, some of the sessions from the conference do sound intriguing. How about the one from Kira O’Reilly: Falling asleep with a pig? Or the one from Erika Cudworth & Maria Tamboukou: The cat and her woman: gendered interpolations of species relations? I just wonder if everybody’s favourite parasite Toxoplasma gondii got a mention in that one?
 
Still, in future I shall remember the comment by David Thompson on this sort of PoMo pontification:
It helps if you imagine a tiny creature inflating its gas bladder to intimidate passers-by.
Quite.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

