The Balancing Act

Yes, I know that I said that I wouldn’t give Wilders the air of publicity, but I do think it’s worthwhile to look at the wider issues around the right to free expression. As I’ve said before, I loathe and detest all that Wilders represents, but we’ve now had two governments (the Dutch and the UK) respond to him in ways that strike me as being completely counter-productive. Russell Blackford and Udo Schuklenk both sum up the reasons why far better than I can. I suggest that you go and read what they have to say.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

