Flying Blue Unspeak

I’m a member of KLM’s frequent flyer group: Flying Blue. My membership dates from the time when I worked for Shell, and clocked up a fair amount of flying points (and over forty of the Royal Delft houses) visiting various Shell companies around the world over a period of twenty four years. I accumulated so many points, that my frequent flyer card is, so KLM currently state, at "Platinum" level for life.
 
Since taking retirement, I’ve hardly travelled at all. Still, I thought, the flight miles that I had accumulated would remain "in the bank", as it were, ready for when I wanted/needed to redeem them. KLM’s Frequent Flyer programme has always had a point of saying that the award miles were "valid for life". Silly me; today I received an email from Flying Blue telling me that, as from the 1st April 2009:
"Your Award Miles are valid for life, the only condition is that you take a flight with a paid ticket allowing Miles accumulation at least once every 20 months with AIR FRANCE, KLM, Air Europa, Kenya Airways or Aircalin, or one of the SkyTeam partner airlines".  
"The only condition"? Excuse me, you’ve just totally redefined the meaning of "valid for life". Flying Blue have the gall to say in their email:
"Flying Blue is committed to rewarding its active customers". 
This is clearly Unspeak for "Flying Blue is committed to screw its non-active customers". Well, thanks a bunch, you bastards.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Organizations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

