Would You Like Mayo With That?

And just to illustrate how little UK society seems to have moved on since Section 28, here comes the news that a Heinz advert has been pulled because it features two men sharing a peck on the cheek. I don’t know who is the more stupid – the arses who complained or Heinz for having less spine than an E-coli bacterium.
 
Update: it appears as though the American Family Association  are the men behind the curtain. Personally, I wish that Toto would chew their bollocks off. They deserve nothing less. And, as has already been said by others: shame on Heinz.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Would You Like Mayo With That?

  1. Brian says:

    I thought that was so charming, that ad!  What resonated for me more than the kiss, was that most women will identify with the idea of wife/mother as a short order cook.  I was the chief cook and bottle washer for my family, and that’s what I identified with in that ad.  Shame on Heinz!  I prefer HP sauce anyway. 

  2. Andy says:

    Who do I complain to that I find those 200 "offended" people themselves deeply offensive?
     
    Shame on Heinz
     
    Andy

  3. Geoff says:

    Andy, well quite. Though I think they have easily condemned themselves out of their own mouths without any help from ourselves. I rather think that Stephen Fry said it best (at the Hay Festival a couple of years back)…
     
    "So you’re offended. So fucking what?

    The question seems flippant at first glance. Even rude. But it is a serious and profound question. Youre feelings are hurt. Youve chosen to take offence at somebody elses words. So fucking what?
    Its an offensive world we live in. Deal with it like an adult. You have not been physically harmed. Why should your offence be more important than someone elses freedom to express themselves?
    So. Fucking. What?
    Before you picket a theatre, write to your local paper, fire your AK-47 in the air, or call for someones head on a plate, ask yourself this question. Can you give an honest and coherent answer, explaining why your personal hurt feelings take precedence over someone elses freedom?
    Because you need to have an answer to this question. And it has to be a good one. Otherwise you will just be dismissed as an irrational, immature cry-baby with an inflated sense of the importance of your own sensibilities.
    So.
    Fucking.
    What?"
    And that, I think, is the correct response to the 200 arses. Fan their flatulence away with utter disdain and ridicule…

  4. Geoff says:

    Oh, and while there are delightful individuals such as RosPower around to disperse their homophobic bile around, then I for one am glad to be able to stand up and say: RosPower: so fucking what? He, she, or it clearly doesn’t have a clue over what it is talking about. 

Leave a Reply

