Genes, Memes and Temes

Susan Blackmore’s talk at the year’s TED conference is now available online. As usual, thought-provoking, although, judging from the comments on the TED site, many people dismiss her ideas almost out of hand. She’s accused of anthropomorphising memes, whereas I don’t think she does at all. To me, the central idea is sound – evolution must occur when there are replicators and selection. The fact of understanding that the substrate on which this occurs is not always of a genetic basis is the clue to being able to see what she’s driving at.
 
Mind you, I think that her implied claim that we are the only species where memes occur is false. We may be the species that is a hyper-producer of memes, but I think that limited memes can be observed in many species. I am also not yet convinced that we are at the stage of temes – here heredity is not something that is common, and this is a necessary condition, it seems to me. Still, interesting talk.
 

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

