Performance-related Pay

I see that the Vatican is to bring in performance-related pay for the 2,600 lay members of its staff. I also note that the priests, bishops, monks and nuns who form the Papal administration are exempt from this. I’m sitting on my hands, trying not to make a cheap shot about this…

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Organizations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Performance-related Pay

  1. Brian says:

    Fire away, dear boy, fire away.  What mystifies me is just how do you define the Key Performance Indicators for clergy.  How packed were the pews?  How many converts this week?  How many altar boys went home unmolested per Mass?  This strikes me as very Germanic of Pope Ratz-arse.

  2. Geoff says:

    I’m sorry, but the phrase "shooting fish in a barrel" just about sums it up. It’s just too depressingly easy. Mind you, things are scarcely more uplifting in the Anglican camp. Here, you get idiots such as Theo Hobson calling Desmond Tutu a "hypocrite" because Tutu dares to observe that the Anglican Church is needlessly splitting itself asunder over homophobia. A plague on both their houses, I say.

Leave a Reply

