Not Yer Meat And Two Veg…

Rufus, over at That’s How It Happened, shares with us his experience of a 26 course meal at L’Enclume. Frankly, it’s all a bit beyond me.
 
(hat tip to Jason Kottke for the link)

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Yer Meat And Two Veg…

  1. Andy says:

    I’m not sure when it was that some chefs stopped thinking that they had an obligation to served food rather than science experiments but I blame Ferran Adria of El Bulli.  The comment that Adria thinks that "food should taste of itself" is so far off from what happens at such places that I don’t know where to start. Dishes in places like this, El Bulli, the Fat Duck etc usually lack seasonality and are often very cheap ingredients indeed – they are not very interesting to start with, so in fact the last thing you want is for them to taste of themselves.  For some examples of real cooking read my blog (www.andyhayler.com) this week about eating in four 3 star Michelin places in Paris.  In places like Meurice and Ledoyen the chef is out to dazzle you with his ingredients and quality of cooking, not trying to shock you into submission.  Fay Maschler makes this point more eloquently thiks week in Restaurant Magazine. 

  2. Geoff says:

    Andy, thanks. I’m glad that I’m not alone in thinking that the emperors have no clothes…

Leave a Reply

